Alone for Valentine’s Day

If you’re like me, you will be spending Valentine’s Day alone this year. This used to really get me down, but now that I’m in my 30′s, I’m used to it. That’s because most of the time if I’m dating a guy and it’s not going anywhere, the relationship ends before Christmas. (I feel that’s a whole different conversation.)

Things to do on Valentine’s Day when you’re single:

  • anything you damn well please. (within legal boundaries of course)

Nice list, right? Valentine’s Day is not a day to remind you that you’re alone, utterly alone. That’s why I’m here. Just kidding. Being alone on Valentine’s Day is like being alone January 27th. It’s just a day. Some years, I go shopping. Sometimes I stay at home, drink a margarita and watch Bruce Willis movies. Or I paint. When my friends were single, we’d make it a fun night of “Who cares about Valentine’s Day!”

There’s no hidden meaning to being alone on Valentine’s Day. You’re still lovable, date-worthy, and awesome. And frankly, sometimes it’s really nice to do whatever you want without having a discussion with someone first. You want to go to the movies that day? Go! You don’t have to talk about it for 20 minutes beforehand. You want to get out your playstation 2 and play Wild Arms 5 for six hours? Go for it! You don’t have to worry about ignoring or boring anyone.

This year for Valentine’s Day, I am going to eat a cheeseburger and paint polar bears. I’m very excited about it. What are your plans?

 

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Alone for Valentine’s Day

  1. nerdynessislosingit February 4, 2014 at 10:23 am Reply

    We got invited to a friends for a coupley dinner. I’m pretty sure I’d rather stay in and play Xbox, or watch a movie and eat some baked kale.

    When I was in Universtiy, even when I wasn’t single, I usually went to my girlfriend’s “singles parties” because it was one of the only chances we had to get together, just the girls. No boyfriends allowed. Now that I’m older, I have ladies night whenever I damn well feel like it, and the boys can do their thing, which I’m sure they’re grateful for!

    • Autumn February 4, 2014 at 8:28 pm Reply

      Girls/guys night is always a good time. Couples dinner could be fun. I always end up being Bridget Jones at those things!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

